linesthroughlines

Listening Assignments 7.14.09

In Listening Assignments on July 14, 2009 at 4:16 pm

1. Wild Light – California on My Mind – Never before has the hatred for a specific locale been so hooky and acceptable. A lot of summer anthems glorify California for its sun, girls, and fun. This one, to say the least, does not. [from Adult Nights|watch video|buy]

2. Bombay Bicycle Club – Always Like This – With a boozy bass-line and trembly-voiced vocals, this has summer written all over it.  [from I Had the Blues but I Shook Them Loose|buy]

3. Miike Snow – Animal – I had two people ask me who this was when I played it at work last Friday, so it’s going in the assignments. The off-beat staccato lends an island flavor to this hipster jam, with the welcome addition of a plinky piano on the bridge. [from Miike Snow|buy]

Amos The Transparent - Album Cover4. Amos the Transparent – Lemons, aka (BigFishLittlePond) – I think I like this song because it reminds me immensely of another favorite track (“Kid Dakota – 10,000 Lakes“), but the tempo is sped up. It’s a little less isolated, a little more driving, a little happier.  –  [from My, What Big Teeth You Have… (tour-exclusive EP)|site]

Leave a Reply

