linesthroughlines

Listening Assignments 8.10.09

In Listening Assignments on August 10, 2009 at 2:12 pm

shivers1. The Shivers – Just Didn’t Need to Know – A beautiful builder in the vein of Springsteen and the National. And, hey look, I wrote about them in early ’07! [from In the Morning|buy]

longcut2. the Longcut – Tell You So – It’s pretty. It’s pretty loud. And it beats furiously like my heart does while chasing after you. [from Open Hearts (out 10.5)|buy digitally/pre-order]

heychamp3. Hey Champ – Cold Dust Girl – ’80s discotheque is back in full swing with just enough structure to step out of the club. [from Cold Dust Girl|buy]

4. Fever Ray – When I Grow Up – Dreamlike dementia, with an almost-mechanized narrator. Strangely alluring. I feel like I’ve stumbled upon some ritual I’m not supposed to see, deep in the freezing forest. [from Fever Ray|buy]

  1. Yes! I’m glad you’re back and that I found this via facebook. 🙂

    p.s. Check out Said the Whale, if you haven’t heard of them? Curse of the Currents & Camilo are pretty rad songs. the end.

Leave a comment