linesthroughlines

My American Jacket

In Indie, Rock, Southern-Fried on November 24, 2009 at 2:03 pm

My Morning Jacket‘s Jim James puts his pants one leg at a time, just like you and I. Except he first does a back handspring into one leg of the pants, which are delivered to him by two winged monkeys. I’ve never seen this feat in person, but since last Sunday’s episode of American Dad was so kind as to animate the sequence for us, it must be fact.

In all seriousness, I’m not a MMJ freak, by any stretch. I have a few friends who are and I applaud their ability to lose themselves in mid-tempo reverb-drowned southern crooning. Dad‘s Stan Smith becomes one of these freaks in the episode, only one of the best musician-cameo’d sitcom/cartoon episodes of all time.  In addition to the aforementioned tomfoolery, six of James’ tracks are featured prominently, which I’m sure will result in gobs of new fans plucking up MMJ music. The tracks chosen are, in my opinion, most of the band’s best…which means it’s kind of downhill from there. That tiny nugget aside, I can still get lost in “Golden” on my own time and revel in the last two minutes of “Wordless Chorus”, much like Stan. Oh Jim, you know me so well.

Listen:
Golden
[from It Still Moves|buy]
Wordless Chords
[from Z|buy]

[get the whole soundtrack to “My Morning Straightjacket” on iTunes]

Leave a Reply

